»

yuri1313's Bleach Tv Review

Bleach

Bleach tv Review

The series begins in the human world, with the sudden entry of a stranger into Ichigo's bedroom. This stranger is Rukia Kuchiki, a Soul Reaper (in the Japanese version, a shinigami, literally God of Death). After an ensuing conversation, Ichigo and Rukia are forced into combat against a hollow (evil spirit). Rukia is disabled, and forced to transfer her power into Ichigo, transforming him into a Soul Reaver. As it turns out, Ichigo is very powerful, and even has a semi-unique zanpukat�? (sword that is his primary weapon, it is much larger than most). Ichigo makes quick work of the hollow, and Rukia leaves.

The next day, she shows up in his classroom, apparently a normal human student. It turns out that Ichigo has completely absorbed her abilities, and she must recover them by using a temporary human form, Gigai. It is later revealed that the Gigai she entered was specially designed by Urahara and given to her. In the mean-time, Ichigo must take over her job, cleansing the hollows in the region.

As Ichigo get involved in a closer friendship level to Rukia, Ichigo got more to know about Shinigami life and its issues.

Credits: niomea

Story & Characters

Bleach: a very popular and long-running anime. To put it frankly, Bleach is a great way to kill 22 minutes of your life. But enough of my harping on it when you haven't even heard how I feel about the story, let's start reviewing it.

Bleach's story revolves around mystery and cliff-hangers. Sometimes, it's intriguing wondering who that culprit could be. But overall, the story is a bit lame. A lot of it focuses on big major "climactic" fight scenes that are so predictable and are just a waste of animation and time. And what is up with one character in a fight using their "ultimate prowess" and them critically injuring the other and then the other says something liek, "Now it's time to stop playing. I'ts time to really fight." How many times do you hear that? And we just go back and forth between the two competitors ablilities and who can trump the other. The story also raised a few questions that are never answered and I suppose we're just supposed to forget. What happens when you die in the afterlife? Are you just gone forever? Is your soul recylced? How long do you live in the afterlife? So many questions left unanswered...

The humor is mediocre and comes up at the oddest of times. In the middle of what is supposed to be an epic fight, some idiot will say something "humorous" and ruin the mood. It was irritiating, to say the least.

The characters are VERY cliche' and don't make you feel for them. I kinda wanna kill some of them. And nobody dies in this anime except, of course, the villains and antagonists. But even if some main character died, I wouldn't feel for them. This show fails horribly in this aspect. Bleach had a good skeleton of a story, but with the dreadful characters, awful humor, and annoying fight scenes, it is reduced drastically.

Rating: 4

Art

The artwork bothered me a lot while I was watching it. The art style is very sharp and, I know this will sound a bit childish, but "poky." Nothing flows. The character designs are very weird, too. And not even in a refreshing way. Hardly any of the characters are attractive. And the girls are way too busty (except for Rukia, who is known for her flat chest). And Orihime (Inoue) was just flat-out awful looking. The scenery is good, nothing special. The action sequences are not animated very well. I have seen good action sequences in anime, and this one doesn't have any. Some of the opening/ending sequences have some pretty good animation, but not excellent.

Rating: 6

Sound

The backround music is forgettable as in most animes. There are a few good opening and ending themes, but to make up for the good themes, Bleach puts in the worst themes I have ever heard to go along with them. The Japanese seiyus are good and suiting to all the characters. The English dub voices....not so much. The sound isn't bad, it just isn't good. Some good themes were "Life" by Yui, "Life is like a Boat" by Rie Fu, "Hanabi" by Ikimono-Gakari, "D-technolife" by Uverworld", and "Rolling Star" by Yui. Sound is pretty much the only thing Bleach has going for it.

Rating: 7

Presentation

After all the hype, after all the great comments I had heard from friends and people on the internet, Bleach was an EPIC dissapointment. From the characters, to the artwork, the series was just plain awful in my opinion. Why did I watch so many episodes? I was hoping that it would get better, for everything that everyone said to finally come together. But it didn't. If the story could have been better and the characters more enjoyable, it truly could have backed up all the hype around it. It had so much going for it, but it fell flat on its face. Please don't waste your time on this unless you like to murder time for fun.

Rating: 5

Final Verdict

5.17 (moderate)

Reviewed by yuri1313, Apr 01, 2009

Comments

  1. Spirit0 Apr 02, 2009

    I guess we're all idiots and we all like to murder time for fun, then. Although I will admit every filler episode is worth skipping and if you watch them, you really are wasting your life. I personally like Bleach, although I will also admit the last like 150-some episodes are sub-par compared to the first arc (although the animation gets better at times in later arcs). *shrugs* I don't find every character awkward-looking, and I like the background music for the most part. I will agree with you that Bleach humor is utterly stupid and the longer the fight is drawn out, the more irritating it is.

  2. yuri1313 Apr 02, 2009

    thank you for the comment. I understand that a LOT of people love Bleach. it just wasn't my thing (AT ALL) and I have found other people that dislike the show. I just find the show nonsensical and it does have good points (I stated quite a few in the review), but the thing as a whole is just pathetic when compared to other better action oriented animes. and I'll just assume that the first part of your comment to not be serious.

  3. Dioma Apr 03, 2009

    I've read your two reviews and I have to say that you base everything on your personal opinion too much thus the reviews are not very useful.

  4. yuri1313 Apr 03, 2009

    ok thanks. as you can clearly see, i am new to writing reviews so any helpful criticism is great. thank you! i'll be sure to work on that. though, a review is a personal opinion, so i'll find a way to work around that.

  5. Dioma Apr 03, 2009

    It's very hard to suppress personal feelings when writing a review, especially when it comes to an anime you hate or dislike (I have once bashed Haruhi Suzumiya). I personally prefer the Bleach manga (it's mainstream shounen but eh) and I agree with most of your statements, but when using such strong words as "dreadful" and "awful" try to support your opinion a bit more, mentioning the stereotypical breast size was a good idea ;)

  6. yuri1313 Apr 03, 2009

    once again, thank you for the constructive criticism! :D if you'd like, you could take a look at my Neon Genesis Evangelion review.

  7. ChiekoKawabe Apr 07, 2009

    I agree that it wasn't very noticeable for me.
    The art is absolutely wonderful, though, to be honest. You don't find many anime with art as good as Bleach's.
    I also think the sound received lower than it should've -- I'm a rabid fan of a lot of the themes now, despite disliking the anime.

    Remember: all of this is coming from a non-fan of Bleach.

  8. madaramewannabe Apr 07, 2009

    The big thing for me about Bleach was that I found the first, say, 6 episodes very interesting if not captivating but after that it took a nosedive. Right after Rukia's abduction in fact. They just seemed to draw it out too much, someone mentionedd 'filler episodes' and that seems to cover it. Remember Dragon Ball Z? Where they would waste half an episode monologuing or 'powering up'? Yeah Bleach is a lot like that. Can't say that I had the same problems with character desighn and drawing as you did though I quite liked some Bleach characters, Urehara comes to mind, but as has been pointed out reviews are entirly subjective and opinion based. If I read a review done by someone who attempts to portray himself as an 'expert' or as 'fact' in most cases I will disregard the review (with some notable exceptions).

  9. yuri1313 Apr 07, 2009

    you nailed it. bleach wastes time simply explaining powers and giving speeches. in the time they use explaining powers or giving some dramatic speech to make a point, they could either be killing their opponent or getting killed themselves. thank you for the comment and support. that's the first person who has agreed with me as much as you have, though, of course, i accept both positive and negative feedback. :)

  10. chumbariwap123 Apr 21, 2009

    well one of the things that i dont like on Bleach is that, full of talking... why not go straight for the action and show Reatsus...
    =( sigh* suppose to gain my smile but this series have my chin crumppled

  11. arifffahdlanbinamin Apr 24, 2009

    bleach is the best anime ever

  12. Kaji666 May 03, 2009

    I am very behind on Bleach I would like to catch up to this great show one of these days.

  13. excaliburer May 10, 2009

    The anime and manga are too different. The battles are too bored. I can't serious when I watch this anime.
    But I think the characters design are not too bad.
    The soundtracks are too much. I think this anime is a contractor soundtrack.

  14. angelxxuan May 18, 2009

    I rather adore bleach, so I guess we don't agree, I rather have bleach to thank for the comedy cause now I'm starting to watch more anime pertaining to this sort of comedy that I probably wouldn't have even bothered with in the past

  15. yuyuppi Jun 07, 2009

    good job,but it's so long episode huh..

  16. pappo1 Jun 09, 2009

    great review very complete

  17. frenchfly Jun 19, 2009

    I don't know. I've not been following the story completely, only watching some random episodes, but although Bleach's artwork and plot isn't as good as some other anime i know, iisn't naruto the same? Long explainations, lots of power-up drama, tt sort of stuff.. funny thing is, i still find the pacing good. The comedy's fun and easy-going, to me 8) ~eheh, hitsugaya and his sweets XD

  18. yohaly801 Jun 20, 2009

    Well...I didn't read anything up there >w< Too long, much like you find Bleach to be. Really, I don't think that someone put a gun to your head and told you to watch the damn show. If you don't like something, then simply don't look at it, or watch it. Don't waste your time flaming when it isn't really going to make an impact for the series.

  19. pmgbapm Jun 23, 2009

    I have watched it for a long time, but it is deterioating

  20. yuri1313 Jun 24, 2009

    to frenchfly, yes naruto is the same. though, i would give naruto a higher score than bleach on artwork. naruto has actually succesfully made a few attractive characters. however, if i were to rate naruto, it would get a far worse score than bleach did. and to yohaly, if you had READ the review you would've known that i watched the series because people talked about how great it was and i was hoping it would live up to its praise...which it didn't. and no it's not a waste of time. what's a waste of time is your commenting on here if you're just gonna say i'm flaming.

  21. Fanatik007 Jul 02, 2009

    I just started to watch it. So I enjoyed this is very funny and adventurous anime for me. Thanks for review

  22. beryl0402 Jul 04, 2009

    thanks for the review! bleach is awesome.

  23. Jamie1318 Jul 17, 2009

    I would mostly agree with your review. I agree that It was a waste of time and spent way to long doing anything. The begining was okay, but after about 6 episodes I switched to the manga because it is faster. I think that you didn't have to spend so much time bashing Bleach. Overall good review

  24. K-A-W-A-I-I Jul 18, 2009

    I didn't think Bleach's drawings were that bad~
    I'm not a huge fan...but i thought the drawings were pretty good. I mean the main character doesn't look too bad and seems even attractive to me at times. But i would agree to the part about most of the girls being not-so-attractive.
    I never got past ep 100 in the series though...i gave up part-way...

page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 Next » 76 total items

Only members can post replies, please register.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Read more.