»

destructivemidgets' Yu-Gi-Oh Duel Monsters Tv Review

Yu-Gi-Oh Duel Monsters

Yu-Gi-Oh Duel Monsters tv Review

Story & Characters

This is a story about a kid named yugi he is in school and has a few best friends called joey, taya. So one day him and his friends was sitting in a comic/card shop one day and yugi finds a video......as soon as he puts in the video the whole room freezes and his friends cant move so as he watches the video he notices that whatever he does really happens like it is virtual reality or something.......so after a long on going battle he finds out that the guy that he was dueling was a man named pegasus.....after the duel pegasus goes into a long indept story about a ancient game called duel monsters so after the super long story (which is practically half of the episode) he tells yugi to go to his island and participate in a tournament of duel monsters so he accepts and sets off on a journey to be a great duelist and get every card........but yugi soon gets a secret weapon called exodia...(which is a poorly drawn dog man) and so he competes in the tournament. After that it goes on and he keeps running into more opponents and than even more opponants and what....what is this another tournament......no, its just some more opponents than hell run into some friends and than into some more opponents so it is very reppetitive and boring after about the first 3 episodes.

Rating: 2

Art

The art I think is poor and slightly looks like crap......they dont get over the emotions in the drawing very well and so you are constantly wondering if they are happy, sad, bored, or angry. So that really makes you slightly agrivated and then when we get to the cards.......or duel monsters as they call it the cards are okay drawn i guess....but anyways i think the drawings on the people look like crap and the cards look a little better like whenever they come out of the card but overall i think its poor.

Rating: 2

Sound

The sound is totally horrible and I cant stand it. When they dubbed the sound into english they did a very terrible job and I totally hate it. Like sometimes the peoples mouths will not even move whenever they are talking so that was just terrible and the english voices sound nothing like the english so that was bad I thought but I mean sound is one of the most important parts of a good anime....(at least I think so).. So if the sound is bad than the anime is practically ruined (but some animes can get by with it) but I think the bad sound was just the icing on the cake to say this really isnt a good anime.^/^
-

Rating: 1

Presentation

I do have to say this is a pretty original anime which was followed by animes such as digimon which was put into cards after the show. But other than that I think it is down right crappy. It has some humor (yea if you are in 1st grade) but it is so childish that it mostly makes the older kids laugh because of how dumb it was so I guess it is still funny just not in the way that the maker had planned and I dont think it is very enjoying to watch because the only times I watched it was whenever I was sick and there was nothing else to do or whenever I was bored out of my mind. So IO think that the bottom line is dont get this unless you are like 8 or under (or if you enjoy badly animated animes about cards coming to life) so I think this is probably just an anime for children and souldnt be touched by someone older than 10 at the most but I mean if thiss sounded interesting to you than buy it but still think if you want to see it than borrow it from a friend or rent it cause it is not worth buying and overall I think that this anime is poor.

Rating: 2

Final Verdict

1.83 (very poor)

Reviewed by destructivemidgets, May 10, 2005

Comments

  1. DarkVirus May 10, 2005

    the begining of yugioh does kinda suck...
    but as it get to the battle city arc, it gets better, especially the art....

  2. EternalParadox Retired Moderator May 10, 2005

    I don't like yugioh regardless of what arc it's in. Then again, I guess all the little kids like it because they're the target audience. lol

  3. Ayasal May 10, 2005

    ......O_o thats a really really really bad rating :sweat: well, I don't think yugioh should get this kind of bad rating.... I don't think the art is that bad its not the worst kinda art conpaired to some series, well it counld be just me ^_^' lol this series all depends on what type of series you like.... so it won't be crap to some people. The American verson started in the middle of nowhere and never showed the very first season because it was "too violent", all i'v only seen the very first season, not the dueling or American part -_- so I don't really know, well..., thanx for the summary :nya:

  4. RainHybrid May 10, 2005

    ypu gotta be kidden me
    i no you hate this show...
    (please donttell me you like it)
    but you did get the plot whetever thing right..
    even though its a stupid show...............

  5. crsg May 10, 2005

    while i do mostly agree with all this review, there are a few points that are good about it. the artwork, for example, does get better. the thing i did like about this anime (while overall it did pretty much suck), was the ancient egyptian storyline later on. okay, so the history was not acuurate, but it did make for a much better storyline than was demonstrated in the beginning of the anime. im certainly not a big fan of the anime, but the egyptian bit did appeal, simply because i enjoy ancient culture, etc. also, a few of the character designs were fairly decent, considering this really is more of a children's anime. i think some of the personalities were well crafted.

  6. destructivemidgets May 10, 2005

    Quote by crsgwhile i do mostly agree with all this review, there are a few points that are good about it. the artwork, for example, does get better. the thing i did like about this anime (while overall it did pretty much suck), was the ancient egyptian storyline later on. okay, so the history was not acuurate, but it did make for a much better storyline than was demonstrated in the beginning of the anime. im certainly not a big fan of the anime, but the egyptian bit did appeal, simply because i enjoy ancient culture, etc. also, a few of the character designs were fairly decent, considering this really is more of a children's anime. i think some of the personalities were well crafted.

    Yea I guess the animation did kinda get better

    Quote by RainHybridypu gotta be kidden mei no you hate this show...(please donttell me you like it)
    but you did get the plot whetever thing right..
    even though its a stupid show...............

    And I watched this show when I was 10 and 11 so I still remember the plot I mean its not that complicated.

  7. whiteberry May 10, 2005

    No, the plot isn't complicated, but you don't need a complex plot to be a decent one. I wouldn't give it a TWO, not a ten either, but that's just me, perhaps. If you'd ever seen a single sub you'd know right off the bat it's not a kiddie show like 4Kids turned it into. I happen to know because I'm a fan.

    Still, the beginning blows. But it gets better. Really.

  8. kiri-chan May 11, 2005

    Your 'story' doesn't really reflect the real plot of Yu-Gi-Oh. Also, your spelling really throws me off. I'm not a fan of this anime, but it is much better than you made it seem. This seemed more like a rant than a review.

  9. LiquidNight May 15, 2005

    yea, this is an obviously biased review, I havent seen the anime, but the manga isnt too bad
    (you cant go wrong with someone being lit on fire in the bizarre way that someone is in the 1st volume)
    the manga's story is way different from what you presented as well, so read it instead

  10. destructivemidgets May 16, 2005

    Quote by LiquidNightyea, this is an obviously biased review, I havent seen the anime, but the manga isnt too bad
    (you cant go wrong with someone being lit on fire in the bizarre way that someone is in the 1st volume)
    the manga's story is way different from what you presented as well, so read it instead

    Yea but on the anime they didnt show the first season in america so i never saw it so the seasons that I saw I really didnt like at all but i guess the first season could of been good.

  11. Ghai May 18, 2005

    i would have to say the art style deserves more then 2 for yugioh. i play yugioh once a long time ago. i'm not realli a fan but i dont hate it either. the art style isnt realli that bad

    if u watched the dubbed version which i did, sadly i agree the 1 is right for that but i believe if its the jap version, it deserves more. though i haven seen a jap yugioh series i always believe dubbing lowers the quality

  12. link212112 Aug 04, 2005

    whoever wrote this didn't watch the japanese version or read the manga because yugioh is on my top 10 favorite anime. But this is what i would rate the american version.

  13. vatican92 Dec 27, 2005

    Even though Yugioh sucks, I wouldn't have gave it that low. I'm not so sure if I watched the American or the Japanese version but it stinks.

  14. Caliburn Feb 15, 2006

    I think in the perspective of a card gamer (not necessarily YuGiOh) this anime is good, duels are almost always done well, sometimes are very unrealistic, mainly cause the f*** luck Yugi has, but even then the duels are very criative.

  15. Haia May 02, 2006

    Well, Sadly for you all who just rate animes and don't even watch the whole series. I bet you haven't even seen all of the episodes. I for one will say your being very harsh on your rating. And it's sad, anyways Yu-Gi-Oh/Dm/FirstSeries/GX all are great animes. Maybe watch the full thing before rate. And as for the art, it's better than what I have seen. :P

  16. animanga Nov 07, 2007

    This is an excellent anime, but when 4kids brought it to the rest of the world, they ripped it to shreds. They censored things that are just completely ridiculous, translated it poorly, and took all emotion out of it so little kids could enjoy it. It's a shame, in Japanese it actually makes sense.

  17. travellerofworlds May 01, 2008

    Quote by EternalParadoxI don't like yugioh regardless of what arc it's in. Then again, I guess all the little kids like it because they're the target audience. lol

    the dubbed version is for kiddie audience, when the original anime and the manga, the audience is for teenagers.

    and remenber 4Kids screw the anime. they screw up Naruto 1st episodes, so don't take heart to 4kids dub neither dubs of other countries, they have the habit to change things in the story, or the real story.

    I would really love to see all the episodes of Yugioh in original because I know is pretty different compared to the dub, and the original anime with the manga, the manga is better, I only have 7 vol.s Of Yugioh not the duelist yet, I want it, I had read some jump chapters, the order and the turns out is different from the original anime, and is better, and much more deeper.
    from the fans had read the manga says the same, including those who're not precisely fan, but like it.
    in the manga there monsters had never showed in the anime, scenes too.

    people should rate a anime when had saw all of it, explore all of it, know the diferences between the manga and the anime,compare it, not miss anything of the story and details.

  18. Shadowgirl Apr 23, 2012

    Ive watched both Yu-gi-oh's and the american one sucks so much. In fact the only reason i would watch it again is for Yugi himself younger or not but it still sucks. However im forced to watch it and hear bout it coz my younger bro likes it and he is thirteen and he collects the cards. He has a few pokemon ones (which are of better design than Yu-gi-oh ones) and a few digimon ones as well (i have a lot of those including a renamon card) anyway ive ranted my feelings towards it. Its like the old saying goes it will grow on you. In some cases it's true in this case it isnt sorry.

  19. back07 Apr 28, 2012

    Now this is my arguument, maybe this opposite you all but i really like Yu-Gi-Oh. I don't know why, maybe because i love the Monster art and i collected the Card of it. For the story i think that interesting (watched Anime when i was 8 until Yugi win the Duel in Pegasus Island and i watched it again when i was 17, the story when Kaiba held a Tournament in his Tower). When the God Cards (Slifer the Sky Dragon, Obelisk the Tormentor and Winged Dragon of Ra) and 3 Legendary Dragon (The Eye of Timaeus,The Claw of Hermos and The Fang of Critias) are appeared in the series i more and more love the story.
    :)

  20. Blue-Latte May 31, 2013

    Wow.. this is really a bad rating. o_O I don't like Yu-Gi-Oh as well, it's so childish in my opinion, but I would gave it higher than 2, Haha ^^;;

  21. YHE Jul 10, 2013

    I don't hate Yu-Gi-Oh like this review shows. In fact I kinda like it I also collect cards of these when I was younger. But I don't want the new Seasons of Yu-Gi-Oh, it's a mess and its too boring to watch.

  22. UberDog Mar 23, 2015

    Very short review but I can't argue against this anime. It sort of didn't have a solid enough plot to give it a decent review.

page 1 of 1 22 total items

Only members can post replies, please register.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Read more.