»

tareren's Tenjou Tenge Tv Review

Tenjou Tenge tv Review

Story & Characters

Tenjho Tenge is basically a story about school life. The story started with two gangster-like boys beating up a whole bunch of high school seniors in order to "take over" the school. These two boys , Bob Makihara and Nagi Souichiro, were then stopped by the Jyuuken club president, Natsume Maya. The school that they attend to is one that put martial arts above everything (even teachers know martial arts ^^)
The story would then develop to a typical boy fight story where the characters are trying to be stronger and everything, though I have to admit Tenjho Tenge has a nice past inserted to make the whole story make sense. There is also the love triangle problem between Souichiro, Maya and Maya's sister, Aya.
Anyway, Souichiro turns out to be very talented in martial arts that the student council of the school is terrified of his ability and tried to eliminate him (expel him from the school) with any means possible. Another threat for them is Natsume Aya, who has Ryuugan aka Dragon's Eyes, who is said to be able to see the past and future. Aya herself seems to be having trouble controlling her power and containing it.
The story is packed nicely, with a few flashback episodes in the middle, explaining all about the past and the background, and where the story would go to. I certainly look forward to see what will happen to the love triangle, the Enforcers (student council), and the ending of everything.

Rating: 7

Art

I like the character drawing, though it looks inconsistent sometimes, especially for Souichiro. However, it can be seen that they tried to give each character a unique design (appearance based) such as the spiral hair that Isuzu has or the unique change over of Maya from kid form to her adult form and vice versa. Clothes design is so-so, almost nothing special since most of the scene happens in school where they usually wears uniform.
I hardly see any background characters as usually the screenshot only contains the few people that matters in the scene, in a place and time where nobody is around. And when there is a few, they seems to stoned so I do not like the background characters.
Background view is also quite standard, nothing special about it, though I kind of like the bathing scene view in the lake (or was it river?). Btw, this anime is a tiny bit ecchi.

And to top it all, the art of the anime is nothing near the manga art, I think the manga art is really awesome (other than the over-huge boobs >_>)

Rating: 6

Sound

As for its soundtrack, I am sorry to say that I do not like its ending theme. It is not very suitable with the lively atmosphere that the anime has (though towards the middle it is a bit gloomy, I see the whole anime as lively one). The opening song is okay (and lively) although I cannot say I like it (maybe it is nice for those who like rap and stuff like that).
The seiyuu fits nicely with the character (chibi Maya's seiyuu is so cute), you can see the character development with the change of voice that they have, like the change of the old cheerful Mitsuomi to the darker and stricter one.

Rating: 6

Presentation

I found that though the storyline is quite standard at the beginning, it turns out to be quite interesting toward the middle of the story when they started to reveal the past. I cannot say that the whole story is quite original as it is a normal kind of fighting story where characters tried to be stronger and everything to avenge somebody, but the presence of the unique characteristic of the school system and also abilities that some characters have had given the whole anime a nice touch.
There is a nice bit of humor here and there, though not really a lot (I like Maya's transformation a lot ^^). I think this anime is more of the serious kind of anime (definitely not light hearted one). Lots of the characters has their own problems and that made this anime has a gloomy feeling to it (especially in the middle), what with all the fighting and the horrible past story (I am not saying that it is VERY dark and gloomy though). However, I enjoy the whole anime despite all that (mind you, am not exactly a fan of dark kind of anime where everything is so serious). Oh, and I will recommend this anime to those 15 years old and above (due to some pervertness and violence ^^)

Rating: 8

Final Verdict

7.00 (above average)

Reviewed by tareren, Feb 23, 2005

Comments

  1. -Shad0wHunter- Feb 23, 2005

    the shows nice.. though the characters are a bit..unnaturally.. mature

  2. kyozlk Feb 23, 2005

    Aside from that, there's a lot of ecchi present also...a guy's dream anime...sorta.. :hmpf:

  3. Integrax Apr 03, 2005

    Yeah TenTen anime its little.....ehmmm crappy......it was made really just for commercial purpose :( ...cos' the manga its fuckin' awesome!!!! Its my fav of all and forever ^__^ + I'll XD !!!!

  4. Rizov Apr 29, 2005

    Yes, I agree the anime is not really one of the best. The artists are just not paying enough attention to detail all the time. On the other hand the manga is really superb. The story is presented much better and the drawings are awesome.

  5. rainbow6 May 16, 2005

    i dun really think the story started off with 2 guys fighting off some other guys..in fact i think the story started with maya and her family problems..

  6. ShadowMoses Jun 01, 2005

    i love this anime the style and artwork is pretty unique not to mention the fighting scenes xd
    go Bobou xd

  7. gaizka Banned Member Jun 08, 2005

    bueno primero que nada la serie de tenjou tenje que consiste de 24 capitulos ya los tengo pero me falta poder consegir la ova de tenjou tenje ultmeit despus podre darles la conclusion sobre la ova de tenjou tenje ggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaiii(...) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;)

  8. gaizka Banned Member Jun 08, 2005

    yo amo este anime llamado tenjou tenje el estilo del arte que utilisan en el anime yen lamanga son exelentes de muy buena calidad ggggggggggggggggggggggggggaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii(...) ;) ;) ;)

  9. Zachior Aug 10, 2005

    Art slashing!? This anime has some of the bestttttt art I've ever seen... blarg!!!

  10. natrinuretic Oct 24, 2005

    I can't really say that they've been inconsistent in drawing Souichirou, since I don't take notice of him too much. Anyway, Tenjho Tenge is really artwork-wise. Some people may not be comfortable of their art due to its ecchiness.

    Rizov: Of course, manga's art is different from that of the anime. The reasons is it's hard to animate detailed pictures. But I agree that this anime is not one of the best. I'm not that interested with the story, and the flashbacks are too long.

  11. tswang36 Banned Member Nov 09, 2005

    i agree with natrinuretic...
    the flashbacks is really waste alots of time...
    but the way they animate this anime is very good...
    coz i try to make screen shot when is come to fighting scene n i found out this anime did a very good job

  12. ShrinkNerv4Eva Nov 20, 2005

    I disagree. The flashback gives a lot of insight, although it makes the story in the present seem a lot shorter than the story in the past. I haven't watched the anime, but I heard it was an average series. The manga (unedited) though, is awesome from first-hand experience.

  13. shin36 Jan 23, 2006

    4 me tenjo tenge is a very good anime.
    the 1st time i watch this anime i little bit complicated but when i watch it second time i realise this anime is really very good and i like it so much.
    i like SHIN NATSUME alot................

  14. irperson Feb 04, 2006

    does anyone know where to download this anime or manga

  15. sin-shenlong Feb 14, 2006

    I like tenjou tenge , however i like the manga much better than the anime. I don't know if its becuz they cut off the anime very early, since i read up 2 issue 75 in the manga, and the anime stopped before half of the story was completed. This lead to incomplete development of some characters (like masataka,bob and nagi, i realised in the anime nagi isnt much of a main character). The art in the manga is some of the best I've ever seen,I mean some of the pages look like wallpapers instead of normal comic pages. The story telling is way better, for example the narrator takes time to describe the background behind abilities and families (u shud check out the takayanagi family TIGHT), and the what the thoughts of the characters are highlighted better as well. So all in all tenjou tenge is one of my favourite productions especially manga.

  16. sazahmet Apr 08, 2006

    I like that anime .It is different i think and it worths to see it.

  17. PuffAngel Jun 06, 2006

    I like Tenjou Tenge, but i don't like the anime as much as the manga. Basicly because there's more of the action, emotion, story and, of course, fan service. But who's to blame?

  18. Sanisa Feb 24, 2010

    Thanks for the review! Nice ^__^

page 1 of 1 20 total items

Only members can post replies, please register.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Read more.