»

nauxolo's Tengen Toppa Gurren-Lagann Tv Review

Tengen Toppa Gurren-Lagann

Tengen Toppa Gurren-Lagann tv Review

Story & Characters

Story:

(May seem like spoilers, but they aren't: )The story takes place in a post-apocalyptic setting where humans are doomed to live under the ground. Above ground lives Beastmen, human-like creatures that have a disdain for humans, who make it their job to kill whatever human comes above ground. We soon learn that the reason is because humans belong to a race of people who possess the power of the Spiral, and that if left alone, could potentially destroy the world. After a bunch of devastating and motivating events, our main character Simoun, leads his team of rag-tag fighters in a rebellion against the oppressors.

The reason why I liked the story is because it is very innovative and new. They took familiar ideas in mecha, and added some flavor to the plot. We have interesting scenes such as Simoun's mecha having the ability to take over whatever-else mecha it manages to combine with, which leads to some really key and interesting events. Although some essential plot points are easy to predict, it still doesn't detract from the overall story.

There are some gaps in the storyline that are left untouched, but I really enjoyed how the story progresses with no-nonsense, and just gives us the meat.

====
Characters:

Characters are really lacking. All of them, except for Simoun, are extremely one-dimensional. For example, all the 'background' characters have no real purpose other than to make things seem livelier. I didn't like KAMINA's character at first, but I managed to deal with his importance relative to the main character, Simoun. His energy is also inspiring. YOKO almost has no purpose other than to fulfill the requirement for X amount of boobs in an anime. People may hate me for saying this, but she's only there to balance the testosterone with estrogen. Seriously, considering how she's rendered 'unavailable' for any guy to chase her at episode 10, just proves my point. As for ROSSHU, a necessary character that you can't help but to hate. He represents all the people who have doubts of Simoun's abilities and motivation. VIRAL, also has very little purpose other than to represent the Beastman side of things. He doesn't have much individuality and seems really one-track minded. However, I enjoyed SIMOUN's growth, LIRON's quirks, BOOTA's humor, NIA's kindness, and KITTAN's perseverance.

Other than Simoun's growth and development, though, the characters just aren't that interesting. You may argue that they're a perfect balance of different character personalities, but they really do nothing other than one thing (ugly button pushing nerd, grunting twins, dumb three useless sisters, conveniently placed old man, mindless battalion leaders, etc etc).

Rating: 7

Art

Very stylish and artistic. I didn't give it a 10, because it didn't seem to go above and beyond. It was very well done, but still seemed within the realms of 'safe'.

Rating: 9

Sound

As my friend mentioned, after Simoun grows up into a man, the opening song lyrics change to reflect Simoun's personal feelings. Truly a great representation.

Rating: 8

Presentation

I am purposely writing this review one week after I finished watching TTGL, so that the adrenaline rush that came from watching the end could wear off. (Yes, it required one week for that to happen).

TTGL is an in-your-face straight-up mecha anime with no frills and little nonsense. From mind boggling action fight scenes to outlandish ideas that somehow fit into this fictional universe, TTGL really satisfies the palette. Although the pace starts out slowly for the first 10 episodes, it soon gains steam and goes for an amazingly enjoyable build-up until the end. Objectively, there may be a few flaws and irks in the characters and storyline, but this is really overshadowed by the energy of the anime.

I highly recommend this anime, because the fights are on such an epic scale. Furthermore, aside from the slow start and the useless hot springs episode, TTGL really doesn't waste much screen time. If you are a male who doesn't have expectations for a profound story, have a healthy amount of testosterone and just plain want an entertaining anime to watch, Tengen Toppa Gurren Laggen should definitely be on your "To-Watch" list.


Value:
I would definitely want to re-watch this series again, just so I can pick up on the little details and references. Furthermore, the battles are just so epic.

Rating: 9

Final Verdict

8.17 (good)

Reviewed by nauxolo, Nov 12, 2008

Comments

  1. MapleRose Retired Moderator Nov 16, 2008

    Good analysis of the story, characters, and presentation, made me want to watch this series to see what it's like and just how "epic" it really is XD

    However, the art section is a little short. I want to know what you meant by "within the realms of 'safe'", as well as how the animation was carried out. Was it smooth? Was it stylized? How did the art handle emotions of the characters? Also, this being a mech anime, I wanted to know how the fight scenes were handled (simple? detailed? stylized? etc), as well as the mech designs (are they fitting to the theme of the series? outrageous? creative? ripoff? etc)

    Same with the sound category. Were the battle scene accompanied by epic and memorable background music? How did the voice actors create the characters? Were the opening and ending songs enjoyable? I think you should elaborate on those things, to justify your score.

  2. douj1nsh1 Nov 18, 2008

    I've done been watching this show for the past 2-3 months it's been on and it's good and I mean good really good
    P.S. I've been watching it on animondays on Scifi if any of ya'll care to know

  3. XavierGr Nov 18, 2008

    I am sorry to say this but Gurren Lagan is a joke. It is a generic "mash-up-the-whole-world" anime without anything new to offer. Things happened for no reason and there wasn't any logic at all.

    Every episode was pretty much the same. Our heroes are in grave-danger and while all seem lost, something out of the blue changes (illogically) and our heroes emerge victorious. No strategic decisions, no uncertain battles or any kind of suspense to keep you interested. You know for sure that in the end something will happen and they will win. It was so annoying that after some episodes I wished the beastmen could kill them all.

    SPOILER WARNING: The only pleasant surprise was Kamina's death. Not because I was annoyed by the anime but because it was unexpected and renew my interest for the title. Unfortunately it continued to be annoying after this small change of things. SPOILER END

    My only interest was Nya and Yoko. As the reviewer suggests, Nya for her kindness and Yoko for her amazing boobs. Again all interest is lost with Yoko after episode 10 but at least we get to stare at her boobs almost for the rest of the title and was one of the few things that I enjoyed. (yea I like boobs :P)

    Artistically it is on par with other titles but had nothing new to add. The animation is far from "top-notch" but average-to-good nonetheless.

    The opening/ending themes were completely crap but I can understand that this is completely subjective and that my musical preference is quite different. For me the background music was utterly annoying except from those times that strange industrial (music?) noises were absent.

    Summing up I think that this title is for kids (sorry for generalizing but that's the way I think of it) that haven't seen many mecha, super-hero-like anime titles. Okay, it was somewhat funny in some cases but other than that it has nothing to offer Story-wise. There are no surprises (except one) and all episodes repeat themselves blatantly. I can't really understand how can someone be interested in a story like this, there are lots of anime titles of the same genre which are way more interesting and pleasant to watch.

    Tengen Toppa Gurren Laggan is a hype which unfortunately, with all this fuss made me watch it and wasted my precious hours. If you want something serious or a good comedy stay out of it. If you are in search of another average mecha anime which everything happens without a reason, go for it.

  4. moncada Nov 24, 2008

    I loved that show, and the growth simon goes through throughout the series.

  5. claire-bennet Dec 13, 2008

    Gurren Lagann is love! It makes you believe in everything that is good :)

  6. MetalhedDex Dec 21, 2008

    I avoided Gurren-Lagaan for ages before finally watching it and I regret not seeing it sooner. It's such a great anime and the characters are really well written and while it's a parody in itself, it still manages to retain its integrity and also be a compelling story about growing up. 10/10 for sure.

  7. CiPi-kun Feb 01, 2009

    I didn't watch the anime till now..but now that I read
    your review ..I think I'm reconsidering it

  8. enjoychegevara Feb 09, 2009

    crazy anime. 9/10

  9. tsuyoshi7171 Feb 21, 2009

    genial genial esta serie el lo mejor

  10. ZEUSSHADOW Feb 27, 2009

    I've seen the anime and it's kind funny,the first episodes will make want to see it,but some episodes don't make much sense ,however the animation is really good, the voices in dub are good too,I say 9/10.

  11. narunarunarunaru Feb 28, 2009

    i did'nt watch yet.. i'll see

  12. chumbariwap123 Apr 23, 2009

    i didnt watch it too, i might reconsider trying,

  13. CeZed75 May 07, 2009

    A great crazy anime as Gainax knows how to make, many big changes happen in this anime and we 're not boring.

  14. pmgbapm Jun 23, 2009

    what a crary anime!

  15. lordryo Jul 21, 2009

    This show is epic!

  16. ResonantSoul Jul 23, 2009

    Most epic anime ever!

  17. chibi-kaeru Jul 24, 2009

    It's interesting to hear you describe the characters that way. I've never had a problem with the characters' one-dimensionality, largely because of the short length of the series. But now that you mention it, I was bothered by the Gurren Brigade's relative unimportance.

  18. flyvapnet Jul 31, 2009

    Well, nauxolo, you've mastered all the trendy cliches and nomenclature. Now you just need some circumspection and you'll be all set! Your review is so devoid of perception that one wonders whether to cry or laugh.

    Simon is merely a passive-aggressive kid who manipulates whomever he can and goes with the flow; Kamina is just a loudmouth who shouts slogans whilst taking credit for others' work; and Nia Teppelin is a bogus product of executive meddling by Gainax. The first ten episodes were anything but slow - unlike what you mendaciously claim - and it's the abdication of artistic and literary continuity by Gainax, beginning with Nia's ridiculous deus-ex-machina entrance and Yoko Ritona's dishonorable removal, which slows the entire series to an airy-fairy crawl.

    Yoko is the series' most multi-faceted character: she's an elite athlete, a valorous commando, a brilliant tactical and strategic planner, a wise counselor and a good friend. Your perception stops at Yoko's cute figure, whilst even a modicum of circumspection reveals many more layers beneath that surface.

    At least Yoko is eventually allowed back on stage to put some character and muscle into the contrived and sagging Nia-Simon "arc" - an "arc" Gainax came to realize was a big mistake. But the damage done by earlier executive meddling could not be completely undone, not even by a character as strong as Yoko.

    The dishonorable and unwarranted removal of one of the finest characters ever created, Yoko Ritona, before half the episodes were released doomed what could have been a great series to the Purgatory of mediocrity - which is just where your review belongs. Web-trendy false conclusions and Web-trendy phrasing are not substitutes for insight.

    -_-

  19. Onlyrockman Aug 01, 2009

    I enjoyed that serious, as I recall it was eps 8 when Kanami died, that broke my heart! Thx 4 the review!

  20. SchRita Aug 23, 2009

    Thanks for the review!

  21. Rodrigo0010 Sep 03, 2009

    good job!nice review

  22. nainoi Sep 11, 2009

    yoko good job.

  23. SchRita Oct 31, 2009

    Thanks for the review!

  24. rukasu04 Mute Member Nov 09, 2009

    Thanks :D

page 1 of 2 1 2 Next » 29 total items

Only members can post replies, please register.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Read more.