»

Milkiyo's Shaiya - Light and Darkness Game Review

Shaiya - Light and Darkness Shaiya - Light and Darkness Screenshot An example of PVE. Shaiya - Light and Darkness Screenshot The two goddesses, Shaiya and Etain. Shaiya - Light and Darkness Screenshot An example of PVP.

Shaiya - Light and Darkness game Review

Story & Playability

"Shaiya, is it an anime?" Some of you might ask and the answer is no. Shaiya is a free MMORPG that features an on going war between light and darkness. It is however rated as an adult MMORPG due to its graphic violence as well as nudity in some creatures.

There used to be only one goddess which was Goddess Etain but her soul was torn into two. So other Gods tried to take over Teos, the world which Goddess Etain created and now there are two goddesses. You get to choose which side you want to help; light or dark. Unfortunately you cannot help both sides at the same time and if you want to transfer to another side, you will have to delete all your characters from the existing side first.....and start from scratch. There is no such thing as a grey side.

There are four races in total; humans, elves, vails and deatheaters (formerly known as Nordein). The light realm consists of humans and elves which is also known as Alliance Of Light and the other two form the Union Of Fury. Jobs however, are limited to their classes/races. For example, a human can only choose between a fighter, defender or a priest. You will not get other job options that other classes have e.g. ranger, mage and archer for elves.

It is a double-edged sword as the two sides have the same features e.g. a warrior (for dark side) have the same features as a fighter (for light side); only the name differs. By that I meant that you will not need to delete all your characters to try a different experience as they have the same features but then again, this lack of variety can be frustrating.

Thankfully, there are a good choice of game modes which you can choose to play; easy, normal, hard or ultimate. This is good for anyone who wants to try playing in different difficulty mode. You would be required to reach a certain level though before you can unlock the hard and ultimate mode. I would say that this is a good gameplay system as it motivates people to play and thus, can be quite addictive. Do keep in mind that this gameplay system can also get boring and repetitive after a while as it requires a lot of patience to build your way up; it is a never ending fight.

There are also many gameplay options that you can do such as PVE, PVP or party with others. PVE means that you fight against the environment while PVP means that you duel with another player. It is basically up to you to do what you want. You can even have mountable pets to enable traveling easier. It is good in the sense that it is saves time unlike some games which is time consuming and eats up a lot of your time by traveling.

The maps in this game are large so you get to explore around and view different types of environment. It is satisfying to find an all new place especially if you cannot afford any type of transport. The bad thing is that you can only do this if your character is strong enough as different maps have different difficulty level and if you have only started, you are basically stuck to the same map for a long time* unless you are feeling suicidal.

By the way, Shaiya is also addictive in the sense that you can choose to be a male or a female unlike some games (Maple Story) which only allows you to play in the same gender as you have in reality (unless you use the opposite sex's account).

*It takes a long time to level up unless you play 24/7.

Rating: 7

Graphics

The art of Shaiya can be deceiving. Based on my experience (after playing for a longer time), it fails to deliver what it promises at first glance. The artwork of the game is good but the game graphic does not live up to the artwork's quality. For instance, the quality of the game graphics looked stale compared to what is being portrayed by the artwork which is fresher and more vivid looking. One fine example of a game that gives what it promised is Oblivion.

Shaiya's graphics is similar to the Final Fantasy series' graphics in terms of the character design; some character designs even looked like characters from Final Fantasy; Yuna from FFX for a particular female human. Even Cloud look-alike can be created. So, I would conclude that Shaiya is not a very creative game after all. Eun Hee Choi (the creator) could have done better.

It is also bordering on the unrealistic; the Nordein (aka Deatheaters) are supposed to be brutish and ugly looking creatures right? But even that race looked like eye candy.

Even though the quality of the game may not be fantastic, it has beautifully detailed scenery; the reflection of the waters and shadows are well done though somewhat jaggy.

Effects such as magic or power can look rather dynamic as well. It adds more color to an otherwise dull situation e.g. fighting gets repetitive after a while.


Rating: 7

Sound

I love the sound and music they have in this game. There are a lot of music for different places and even when you are fighting. The music for fighting really raises your morale even if you could be dying :D

Different towns have their own different theme songs and I give a thumbs up to that. I would say that the music is one of the best features in Shaiya.

May Contain Some Spoiler
Some of the music is essential to enable you to find the place to complete a quest if you are not keen into reading maps (There is a big and a small map). Each place have their own background music which enables you to identify a certain place.

The monsters also have their own unique voice but then again, a lot of MMORPG games also have the same feature.

Rating: 9

Fun

Personally, I feel that there is not much originality in the game. Shaiya is your typical hack-and-slash game; it emphasizes on action like all other action games do and yet, it is not as good as some other MMORPGs (Lineage). This is due to the lags, bugs and glitches found in the game. You would have thought that you are playing the beta version if you try this game.

For example, it is sometimes rather annoying as you can get stuck in the game. By that I mean physically; the movements can be a tad edgy and you might get yourself stuck in between a building if you are not too careful. In addition to that, there is a rather ridiculous glitch that needs some serious fixing. You can practically climb anything (except those that are moving) if you repeatedly press on it.

Shaiya is also not a very user friendly game in terms of using the chatbox. The words are rather small and white and you have to highlight over the box to make out what it is. There is also no notification if your party is chatting to all members or particularly to you due to the constant overlapping of chats by other players using the same chatbox. Not a good thing if you are in the middle of a huge fight and you cannot read what your party members are saying.

On the other hand, it is easy to master the controls. Shaiya does not require you to memorize any weird key combinations or so. It also has some rather interesting controls such as you get to jump and somersault in different directions. Different jobs have different type of fighting styles as well as movements.

Overall, this game is rather enjoyable but if you are looking for a game to add to your collection, look elsewhere. Shaiya is only recommended to kill time or to be played once in a while; it is not something worth buying which is probably why it is free in the first place.

Rating: 6

Final Verdict

7.00 (above average)

Reviewed by Milkiyo, Apr 29, 2008

Comments

  1. Hasaki-Keissi Apr 29, 2008

    I honestly don't know what to make of it. It sounds like it really impressed you, but I can't quite say it grabbed me by the same storm. (So to Speak, anyway.)

  2. BossMac Apr 29, 2008

    Your review is informative yet it fails to convince one on how good the game is. First off, your review sounds more like a rant which is one thing we should avoid when making a review. Another thing is the flow of your review, you need to structure it more so the the information you want to communicate is clearly laid out and it does not appear to be just a constant burst of commentaries. Also note that when writing a review, always consider the reader as to having no familiarity with the title you're reviewing. When giving out details, elaborate a little then proceed on your analysis and reaction to said detail.

    All in all though you wrote a good review. Not great but good. If I were to decide, I'd suggest a rewrite of this review THEN I will consider you a member of the MT-Review staff. Either that or you can write another one but for an anime title.

  3. shoujoboy Apr 29, 2008

    Ah so this is our prospective MT-Review member. Rarely will I be following a Jak comment, but I had to rid my computer of virtual AIDS, so I feel behind. Before I get into the critique... FYI, Yuna is from FFX not FFXII. Burned!

    Anyway, I have to echo some of his thoughts. Your structure is really hard to follow as it lacks any kind of flow. It seems more like you would have been awesome at a bullet point slideshow on Powerpoint. But is being awesome at Powerpoint anything to be proud of? I digress. Also, there are grammatical hiccups strewn about.

    Quote: One word to describe the art. Fantabulous!


    Consider a semi-colon as opposed to a period.

    Quote: Even Cloud-look-alike can be created.


    You need an a between even and Cloud. Also the hyphens are not needed, at the very least the one after Cloud should be removed.

    It's the small things that will really kill your overall review. Take some time to edit those nagging details and maybe at some more meat to the review and you'll wind up with a pretty good one. As for letting you in the group... it appears master Jak has spoken on that matter already.

  4. davidh01 Apr 29, 2008

    Time for a third opinion from the MT-Review squad. Firstly, the good points:

    1. You've kept your language simple and succinct.
    2. You've avoided long rambling statements that go all over the place.
    3. You've kept an informal approach to the review, which is generally appropriate in this community.

    This is a good start. Now, what can be improved:

    1. Your statements need to convey a balanced point of view. Colloquial terms like "sucks, eh" upsets any balanced viewpoint and turns the review into a rant or rave opinion. While I respect your opinions, others may find it not so welcome and this invariably start the flame-wars.
    2. I got the basic impression that you had a good story to tell but I was unable to be convinced on the basis of what you had provided - I needed more convincing and evidence. One suggestion (hopefully constructive) I'd put to you is how you structure your statements. Something along these lines was pounded into me by an English teacher many years ago and it stuck:
    - Say something - an observation of fact or opinion;
    - Say "why it is so" - give your reasons to support your statement;
    - Say "what is the significance" - why do you need to make that statement?
    - Give evidence - what examples within the game/anime/manga can you give to support your statement.
    Take this on board, and I'd suspect you will be able to not only make your position clear, but you'll convince people that you know what you're talking about.

    Take heart that we're not pulling your review to pieces, but we're trying to ensure a high quality of review content is submitted to MT as this community is quite unique by allowing free-form reviews to be submitted by anyone. You might also want to take a look at some of our previous reviews for examples and ideas - but don't copy... keep your own style. You can only get better with experience and taking on board constructive criticism.

    EDIT: Your updated version shows much improvement. I am now getting compelling observations backed up by evidence that, ultimately, convinces me of your opinions. Well done; and welcome to the MT Review squad.

  5. Milkiyo Apr 29, 2008

    whoa..info overload @_@
    I'll update this review later.

  6. BossMac Apr 29, 2008

    Quote by Milkiyowhoa..info overload @_@
    I'll update this review later.

    Gonna be lookin forward on that one.

  7. ArtificialRaindrop Apr 29, 2008

    Quote by jakulitoFirst off, your review sounds more like a rant which is one thing we should avoid when making a review.

    Wow... I didn't think it that sounded even remotely like a rant. Ranting sounds angry...

    I'm glad to see that someone finally reviewed this. I really had no idea what it was other than perhaps a collection of artwork. I'm kind of curious about something you mentioned, however:

    Quote by Milkiyo By the way, it is also addictive in the sense that you can choose to be a male or a female unlike some games which only allows you to play in the same gender as you have in reality (unless you use the opposite sex's account).

    What game requires this? I have never heard of any game doing this before, and I've played a couple of online role-playing games. I don't even recall having to state my gender o_0 But I'm just wondering.

    Good luck on joining Minitokyo Review!

  8. Milkiyo Apr 30, 2008

    Wait, I am still not finished with the review. Don't look! D:
    I'll finish it once I get back from studying.

  9. BossMac Apr 30, 2008

    Quote by ArtificialRaindrop
    Wow... I didn't think it that sounded even remotely like a rant. Ranting sounds angry...

    I'm sure that isn't always the case... such as this one.

  10. Milkiyo Apr 30, 2008

    fuh..reviewing games are much harder than anime -_-

  11. shoujoboy Apr 30, 2008

    Quote by Milkiyofuh..reviewing games are much harder than anime -_-

    I'd wholeheartedly disagree with that. Games usually have much more to rate because you actually have interaction with them as opposed to anime which is quite the opposite. What's hard is reviewing anything that comes out to be rated on or around "average". When something is amazing it's easy to speak highly of it. When something is terrible it's easy to slam it. When something is just average, it's hard to find a way to describe it. Your overall score of '7' leads me to believe that's the case.

    As for your review... nagging grammar issues still reside. Hell, the first section has an error. "It is however rated as an adult MMORPG due to its graphic violence as well as nudity in some creatures." However should have a comma before and after. Not a good omen when starting to read the review. In honesty, your biggest downfall may be comma placement, in that you lack necessary ones throughout.

    There is improvement over the last and your willingness to take on these criticisms to make your review better shows that you are taking this seriously. But the question is... what does King Jak have to say about all of this?

  12. keimori Apr 30, 2008

    yeah .......so hardddd

  13. BossMac Apr 30, 2008

    Quote by shoujoboiThere is improvement over the last and your willingness to take on these criticisms to make your review better shows that you are taking this seriously. But the question is... what does King Jak have to say about all of this?

    King Jak believes that your openness to criticism and effort to improve is commendable. I still think you should write an anime review...

    So for now I think I'll grant you membership in the MT-Review crew. Here's your cap and nametag...

    *wear*

  14. ArtificialRaindrop May 01, 2008

    Quote by ArtificialRaindrop
    Wow... I didn't think it that sounded even remotely like a rant. Ranting sounds angry...


    Quote by Jakulito
    I'm sure that isn't always the case... such as this one.


    Quote by dictionary.com
    rant
    1. to speak or declaim extravagantly or violently; talk in a wild or vehement way; rave: The demagogue ranted for hours.

    v. intr.
    To speak or write in an angry or violent manner; rave.

    n.

    1. Violent or extravagant speech or writing.
    2. A speech or piece of writing that incites anger or violence:

    I'm not sure why you think it is a rant (I don't read minds), but I really don't think this is even close to a rant because Milkiyo gave good and bad points, and never really spoke longer than necessary on the cons of the game. She didn't dwell on the negatives, but rather took the time to rationally explain why they were problems to her and even balanced them out with things she thought were done well. There is nothing loud or fanatical about it either. I'm not claiming to be majoring in English by any means, I am just curious as to where you are coming from with this. o_0

  15. BossMac May 01, 2008

    Quote by ArtificialRaindrop
    I'm not sure why you think it is a rant (I don't read minds), but I really don't think this is even close to a rant because Milkiyo gave good and bad points, and never really spoke longer than necessary on the cons of the game. She didn't dwell on the negatives, but rather took the time to rationally explain why they were problems to her and even balanced them out with things she thought were done well. There is nothing loud or fanatical about it either. I'm not claiming to be majoring in English by any means, I am just curious as to where you are coming from with this. o_0

    I think you're cute and all but let me just point out that I said "more LIKE a rant" and not "IS a rant"... I think they mean different things. ;)

  16. ArtificialRaindrop May 01, 2008

    Quote by JakulitoI think you're cute and all but let me just point out that I said "more LIKE a rant" and not "IS a rant"... I think they mean different things. ;)

    Aw... And here I thought I was going to get a full explanation XD I see that you are highly immune to prodding, but that can be a good thing. It keeps you from going insane. ;)

    And since I forgot to say this last time I posted: Milkiyo, thank you for mentioning one of the games that forces the gender restriction! Like I said before, I had never even heard of that being the case in an online game. It seems strange that a game would try to narrow a game in that manner, especially since- as you pointed out- people can simply make an account under the opposite gender. ^_^'

  17. xaznjohnx May 01, 2008

    hi im new to this... can any1 help me out?XD

  18. Sy-chan Feb 19, 2009

    It was an okay game. Not something I'd play over and over. But it was alright.

  19. pmgbapm Jun 23, 2009

    it is too easy towin

  20. lordryo Jul 28, 2009

    Good review.

  21. SchRita Aug 23, 2009

    Thanks for the review!

  22. ShaiyaLover Oct 11, 2011

    I haven't play the game, but I saw the pictures everywhere. I immediately loving at first site. The two godds are seductive yet beautiful. I really love their cloth especially the black one.

page 1 of 1 22 total items

Only members can post replies, please register.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Read more.