»

qrdel's Bleach Tv Review

Bleach

Bleach tv Review

The series begins in the human world, with the sudden entry of a stranger into Ichigo's bedroom. This stranger is Rukia Kuchiki, a Soul Reaper (in the Japanese version, a shinigami, literally God of Death). After an ensuing conversation, Ichigo and Rukia are forced into combat against a hollow (evil spirit). Rukia is disabled, and forced to transfer her power into Ichigo, transforming him into a Soul Reaver. As it turns out, Ichigo is very powerful, and even has a semi-unique zanpukat�? (sword that is his primary weapon, it is much larger than most). Ichigo makes quick work of the hollow, and Rukia leaves.

The next day, she shows up in his classroom, apparently a normal human student. It turns out that Ichigo has completely absorbed her abilities, and she must recover them by using a temporary human form, Gigai. It is later revealed that the Gigai she entered was specially designed by Urahara and given to her. In the mean-time, Ichigo must take over her job, cleansing the hollows in the region.

As Ichigo get involved in a closer friendship level to Rukia, Ichigo got more to know about Shinigami life and its issues.

Credits: niomea

Story & Characters

Bleach is a story of 15-year-old high school student Kurosaki Ichigo who accidentically gained Shinigami (Death God) powers. Plot, at the first glance, is not very complicated. Our hero, together with some other, more or less, important characters fights with Hollows in all their kinds. Though, when first arc-Karakura, reaches its climax, everything, starting from character development, increases its speed so that viewer soon starts to be rather confused. New characters enter the screen, new powers are revealed, and secrets from the past as well. Bleach starts to be THAT Bleach - the one loved so much for its unbelievably quick action, amount of fights, flashy attacks and more and more confusing plot.

Characters are developed at a good level. Most of them have their background, reason for fighting and justification for actions they make. I especially enjoyed two characters: Hitsugaya Toushirou and Kuchiki Byakuya. While Hitsu is perfect example of a rushy, hot-headed and typically-shounen chara, Bya is rather calmed, cold-heart, and accurate in his decisions, at the same time being curious about his sister and his clans wherebouts.

I didnt like the way plot developed when it comes to relationships between certain ppl. For instance, Rukia, being one of the main characters, dont suit Ichigo and she shouldnt be so close to him. Inoue, at the same time, who is much more suitable as main chara love, is rather in the background, although her role in overall story is yet to come.

All in all plot is not the weak point of Bleach. I'd say its one of the most advanced stories I have ever seen in this type of anime... 8/10

Rating: 8

Art

This is what I like(d) the most about Bleach. At the very beginning I was sincerely shocked by the level of animation, art, drawings, and battle sequences. During the SS saga it's gotten even better. Yet, Bounto arc, which is obviously filler, downed art to such a level, that I hate to say I'm dissapointed about that aspect of Bleach in Arrancaru arc.

What I liked the most about old Bleach art were battle sequences. Quick, flashy, splendid, done in such a way, as if they were part of manga volume instead of animation from TV series. I loved them. What we have now is SLIGHTLY different...

Fights are floppy, art is lowered, sometimes only hair-colour helps him to notice which character is speaking now. Its hard to say, but Im really dissapointed with animation and art during Bounto and Arrancaru arc (so far).

To sum up this paragraph, I give 9/10, just because I really enjoyed previous animation, and I still have hope that Bleach anime staff will recall old times...

Rating: 9

Sound

This is definatelly a strong part of Bleach. Score and OST are outstanding. Especially openings and endings are arranged and chosen properly and all of them suit currect arc. What I didnt like about the sound was the neverending background music when Ichigo was switching to bankai or releasing Getsuga Tenshou. It annoys me so much, that whenever I hear that I lower the speakers or turn 'em off. But thats propably the consequence of listening to the same score for almost 110 episodes... I got simply bored...

Yet another 9/10 because of great opening/ending music and battle sounds. Actors voices are also chosen perfectly. I couldnt imagine better voice for Ichigo or Rukia.

Rating: 9

Presentation

That part of Bleach receives 10. Humor is one of the best parts of Bleach. I loved the jokes, funny characters and the way Kubo-san found the way to present things.

The other thing is enjoyability that flows from Bleach. I've seen TV series few times and whenever I watch it again I feel like its my first time. Its fantastic feeling and its worth downloading all those GBs or buying legal DVDs.

Bleach is certainly of the best shounens I have ever seen, much better than Naruto, One Piece, old but still good Dragon Ball. Anyone who wants to spend great time watching good anime series should watch Bleach. Manga is even more enjoyable, though if you want to watch Bleach TV as well, its advisable for you to avoid reading manga. Why? Because you wont feel dissapointed when fillers time come... So, if you have a chance, go and watch Bleach... you wont regret that... :)

Rating: 10

Final Verdict

9.00 (very good)

Reviewed by qrdel, Jan 29, 2007

Comments

  1. shoujoboy Jan 30, 2007

    A few gramatical/formatting errors but all in all a solid enough review. What strikes me as kind of odd is seemingly you spent each section commenting on what you didn't like as much as what you did but managed to come out with an overall '9'. Honestly I just didn't find the whole review to just scream the excitement necessary to portray a '9' in the first place. Maybe I'm just reading a bit too much into it.

  2. qrdel Jan 30, 2007

    well you see, Bleach received all those '9' because of first two seasons which were really great... bounto arc alone wouldnt even receive 8 in overall... plus, if you could pm me all those syntax and formatting mistakes I made I'd be very appreciated...

  3. BossMac Jan 30, 2007

    Quote by shoujoboyA few gramatical/formatting errors but all in all a solid enough review. What strikes me as kind of odd is seemingly you spent each section commenting on what you didn't like as much as what you did but managed to come out with an overall '9'. Honestly I just didn't find the whole review to just scream the excitement necessary to portray a '9' in the first place. Maybe I'm just reading a bit too much into it.

    Easy, soldier... :) The most obvious grammatical error I can see here is the lack of usage of "the".

    ...powers. Plot, at the first glance... should be ... powers. The plot, at first glance...

    that and a few others.

    And also, you used the term "old Bleach" which may be misleading to readers especially those not familiar with the title. Using "old Bleach" might imply that it is an old title that aired backed in the 90s. You could've used "Bleach's early season" or some other term.

    I gotta agree with you about the arc stuff. Once a title gets rather long the later episodes tend to be more filler with only the occasional episode with canonical significance sparking the arc back.

    Overall, you presented the review quite well. Just listen to shoujoboy's advice and you'll be alright... or else we'll get all you. Just kiddin' :)....

  4. hikaru02 Jan 31, 2007

    OMG, I love BLEACH! I love BLEACH! I love BLEACH! I love BLEACH! I love BLEACH! I love BLEACH! I love BLEACH! I love BLEACH! I love BLEACH! I love BLEACH! I love BLEACH! I love BLEACH! I love BLEACH! I love BLEACH! I love BLEACH! I love BLEACH! I love BLEACH! I love BLEACH! I love BLEACH! I love BLEACH! I love BLEACH! I love BLEACH! I love BLEACH! I love BLEACH! I was just watching the latest one, and it's so funny... I wonder when will ichigo now that his dad is a shinigami? Hrm... And will he turn over to the dark side for awhile? I'm getting to anxious... I really want to watch it!

  5. shoimi Feb 04, 2007

    this is a great reveiw i was able to follow this review better thensme others i have read it gives it a better ubnderstand at a personal level. some tof the reviews i have read have just what the story line is about with no opinoins about what the person thought about the show itself but more about what they thought others wantedto hear so this is a really good review.

  6. JusticePro Feb 05, 2007

    wow~this review at least let me know what i'm seeing hahas~nice one there~and I love BLEACH too!~~

  7. chii0103 Feb 08, 2007

    nice revieW.. reading it once would give your readerS a solid view of the stOry.. :) though there were minor grammatical errOrs.. keep it up ^^

  8. zofus Feb 10, 2007

    you did a good job on writing this review :). i haven't seen all of Bleach yet, and you did a good job explaining things, without spoiling anything :). i mean, you didn't spoil the story, i just now know about the going to be bad arc, but like you, hikaru, JusticePro, I LUV BLEACH! so that won't stop me from watching it or anything.

    like what shoimi said, i like how you gave your pov about things. even tough this is the first review i read here, so i can't talk about other reviews, you gave facts about Bleach as well as opinoins.

    the grammatical errors wern't that bad... i didn't really notice them until i knew they were there (from reading te replys), i guess i just wasn't paying attension to errors cause the review was soz good!

    merged: 02-11-2007 ~ 07:22am
    you did a good job on writing this review :). i haven't seen all of Bleach yet, and you did a good job explaining things, without spoiling anything :). i mean, you didn't spoil the story, i just now know about the going to be bad arc, but like you, hikaru, JusticePro, I LUV BLEACH! so that won't stop me from watching it or anything.

    like what shoimi said, i like how you gave your pov about things. even tough this is the first review i read here, so i can't talk about other reviews, you gave facts about Bleach as well as opinoins.

    the grammatical errors wern't that bad... i didn't really notice them until i knew they were there (from reading te replys), i guess i just wasn't paying attension to errors cause the review was soz good!

  9. Chiro-kun Feb 14, 2007

    A solid review, though I think that you exaggerated on the presentation and story parts a bit. Otherwise, one of the best shounen anime that I've seen so far :)

  10. Kanna14 Jun 25, 2007

    BLEACH is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO COOL! I Love it SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO(...)
    MUCH!

  11. jo3slay3r Jun 30, 2007

    Bleach seriously pwned every anime's ass!

  12. shawn2death Feb 28, 2009

    I'm agree with the review on Art and Sound :D
    This anime's art is a bit lowered whn proceeding more...
    However, the 3D in the Movie is GREAT >.<
    And the soundtrack is amusing especially the third soundtrack.
    I love the guitar rhythm :)

    BLEACH IS THE BEST !

  13. beryl0402 Mar 16, 2009

    I AGREE BLEACH IS THE BEST! no other anime can match up to it!

  14. Sanisa Sep 21, 2009

    Thanks for the review!

  15. SchRita Jan 15, 2010

    Thanks for the review!

  16. Sanisa Feb 24, 2010

    Thanks for the review! Nice ^__^

  17. Warpten29 Mar 19, 2010

    Good enough!

    merged: 03-25-2010 ~ 05:24am
    Well you did your best.
    So i guess its fine

  18. hitsu-chan Jul 18, 2010

    Good review ! I totally agree with you, your opinion is mine, too... anyway, Bleach is now getting a bit boring but even that, I just TOTALLY L.O.V.E. BLEACH !

  19. edwarddesu Dec 06, 2010

    the highest rate for bleach review so far....
    like it....
    I agree with the art, its the best art so far. especially for me, and especially for the manga version

page 1 of 1 19 total items

Only members can post replies, please register.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Read more.