»

cagalli88's Rurouni Kenshin Ova Review

Rurouni Kenshin

Rurouni Kenshin ova Review

Ten years after the beginning of the Meiji Era, a wandering samurai came to Tokyo. This man, known as Himura Kenshin later on, ends up living in a Kamiya Kasshin dojo and teach kendo for a living.

However, his life is not as simple, as turmoils arise from time to time, unfolding his true nature as the famous Hitokiri Battousai, the greatest killer of the Bakumatsu. However, vowing never to kill again, he tries as hard as he can not to draw his sword until the critical moment comes, and so far, manages to escape his bloody past.

Until the day when an old menace, in the form of Shishio Makoto, the successor to the Hitokiri Battousai, threatens the peace of the new Meiji Era. Shishio and his Juppon Gatana are ready to start a new revolution to correct the evils of Western influence, and forced Himura Kenshin, along with his new friends, once again raise his sword to protect their loved ones.

Credits: niomea

Story & Playability

Ruruoni Kenshin Seisohen is the final installment for this beautiful and endearing anime series. Known throughout all Japan as the Hitokiri Battousai, Himura Kenshin is now a lost soul cursed to seek atonement for his bloody past. Even the peace that now exists as a result of Kenshin's sword brings him no solace.

In Seisohen, he was approached by the General and was asked to go to the continent to stop the disputes happening that would escalate into war. The military has soldiers but they do not understand the battle and thus they need someone experienced to be their leader. Kenshin was a suitable candidate. He agreed to go to the continent but in no way he would participate in the war. Instead, he'd help the people suffering due to the disputes. Thus began his usual trips to the continent. This caused him to wander far from those he loves. His beloved friends, his own son, Kenji and his dear wife, Kaoru.

Kaoru will steadfastly awaits his returns as she mourns his absence. Days and days passed and Kaoru has yet to see his face. Even if Kenshin does return, he will be in a dire state for he is suffering from an incurable and deadly disease. A disease he got as an after- effect of using the sword technique, Hiten Mitsurugi Ryu. When Kenshin didn't return for a long period of time, Kaoru's disease is escalating. Will Kenshin finally come home before she dies of grief?

That is the storyline in a nutshell. Before i give any spoilers [for those who havent watched it yet], let me just go on to the characterisation.

Kenshin in seisohen is as good as a zombie. Everytime he comes home, he will collapse due to the disease that was eating him up, leaving him no time for his own son, who ran away from home. We no longer see his cute self and will no longer hear his catch phrase, "Oro"? anymore. Kaoru on the other hand, although she appears weak and helpless, is still a strong individual. She envied Kenshin's ex-wife, Tomoe bcos she carried such important role in Kenshin's life. Determined to be as important as her, Kaoru decided to share the disease with Kenshin in order to really understand the pain that he was going through. Desperation? I think not. Kaoru is someone who really cares for the person she deeply love.

Other characters like Yahiko and Megumi do appear occasionaly. Yahiko has grown to be a responsible man and Megumi is still a doctor. Both are deeply worried for this two suffering couple but there was nothing they could do because they have already decided that this is what they want. No matter how worried they were of Kaoru, they were helpless as nothing could win over the power of love she has for Kenshin. As for their son,Kenji, he ran away from home and seek Kenshin's master, Hiko Soujiro just so that he could understand the art of sword. His refusal to return home to his mom caused such great anger in Yahiko who has been looking after his mother for him.

Rating: 10

Graphics

The art is totally different that the ones in the anime series. In Seisohen, we get to see the characters in their mature form. No longer the big eyes and spiky and "full of life" hair. What we see now is equivalent but not equal to what a normal human being is like. Kenshin's hair has grown darker and his facial expressions, exhausted and drained of energy. Kaoru's hair is also darker and has her hair tied like a bun. But kudos to the sceneries and backgrounds. It looks real and details are drawn meticulously. [did i spell that right?] The sakura scenery has a soft touch to it which greatly portrays the mood of the story. Although, some scenes are a bit dull but it cant be blamed as it has to be suitable for again, the mood and situation of the story.

Rating: 8

Sound

Seisohen has an overall, sad soundtracks. Especially the theme song played at the end of the story. It is sad and slow with meanigful lyrics. It is also a song of longing if i may add. It clearly portrays the feelings that Kaoru is going through and her longing for Kenshin whom she hasnt seen for a long period of time. I just wish they hadnt cut the song halfway because it really and i mean really a good song.

Nothing much can be said about the other soundtracks because in order to suit the mood of the story, they either have to be sad, soothing or upbeat. One thing though, the soundtracks really plays with your emotions. If i may say, the ending part where Kaoru and Kenshin are slowly but surely meeting up with each other, the soundtrack is like making you cry, you know what i mean? Like, we already know that they both havent seen each other for soo long and they ae finally meeting up! Of course we feel touched and thats when the soundtracks plays a part. Yeah.

Rating: 8

Fun

I really love the conclusion of this anime. And i really cried my heart out at the ending. Kaoru's love was soo powerful that she could even sense Kenshin's presence. And [spoilers] even though Kenshin's memory is failing him so badly, he doesnt fail to remember Kaoru. This proves that unlike Tomoe, Kaoru's love was irreplaceable and stronger.
All in all i think this, in the end is a story of love & sacrifices. The people behind this animation/story must have put in alot of effort into putting in emotions and tear-jerking moments. It isn't easy to create such a situation so i really applaued them to be able to succeed in it. Ruruoni Kenshin Seisohen is a story worth re-watching. Ah, do prepare loads of tissues cos you'll need them!

So..in the end..

On her lap, Kenshin is resting while Kaoru makes a plan to gaze at the cherry blossoms with the gang in the future though she knows its impossible. For our hero has finally found his peace..whilst on her lap...

Memorable quotes
"Recalling our past, both you and i have lived with scars which cannot fade.."

Rating: 9

Final Verdict

9.00 (very good)

Reviewed by cagalli88, Oct 10, 2006

Comments

  1. AmethystSnow Oct 10, 2006

    really great review,thanks alot,but it sounds so sad!

  2. Aoshi101 Oct 11, 2006

    If I was to go totally unbiased here I have to say that your rating is a little slightly higher rating than I would've given it. But because I am a hardcore RuroKen fan I have to say it deserved a perfect 10. But I hate bein biased XD

    Overall good review, though your overview was everything but brief. Try to lay off a little on the overview of the storyline and just stick with your opinions about it. And the review on the storyline felt more like I was reading the overview instead of a review. That was the only problem with it otherwise good work and keep writing ^_^x

  3. Aziff Oct 11, 2006

    wow! great review! really gives an insight on how the movie really is... it's a pity Jinchuu wasn't given the proper light in Seisouhen though...

  4. embershadow Oct 12, 2006

    Good and detailed review... but... did the storyline really deserve a 10? :sweat:

  5. himura088 Oct 14, 2006

    This is really a good review!
    Love it!
    Thanks lots! :)

  6. sakura-uchiha06 Oct 16, 2006

    Ooooooooo....I loved the review on this XD

  7. fallenangelwblackwings Oct 23, 2006

    i love ruroken! great review 10!

    merged: 10-23-2006 ~ 04:15pm
    i love ruroken! great review .....10!

  8. Damyus Oct 29, 2006

    pretty good review, details. Thanks to take the time to do it!

  9. nhaidah Nov 14, 2006

    i havent seen it but because of this review im excited to see it too good review thnx....

  10. wyx Dec 17, 2006

    the art is really nice on this series, not just your ordinary anime

    nice review

  11. Chiro-kun Feb 14, 2007

    Ah, one of my all-time favourite series! Good review though I feel the anime should be given an 8, mainly due to the crappy fillers. As far as the main arc is concerned though, 9-9.5 just like in the review :) Fans of this show should read the manga(if they haven't already that is).

  12. openupyourmind Feb 18, 2007

    i love rurouni kenshin xD this is really so awesome.... is there any way of free downloading ruroken seisohen anime?

    merged: 02-18-2007 ~ 09:35am
    i love rurouni kenshin xD this is really so awesome thanks for writing the review! ...is there any way of free downloading ruroken seisohen anime?

  13. HitokiriTaijiya Feb 18, 2007

    I love Rurouni Kenshin, but I can't stand this OVA. No way would Kenshin and Kaoru act as they do in the OVA. The director and writers obviously didn't read their manga.

    Why would Kenshin, who is so good with Yahiko and who was so good with those Otsu village children in the manga (and with Ayame and Suzume in the anime), be hesitant to interact his own son? In Seisouhen, it seems like he's afraid to come near Kenji for fear of tainting him with his sins or some crap like that.

    Why would Kenshin knowingly infect Kaoru with his disease (most likely syphilis)? How can he condemn the woman he supposedly loves to a lingering death, even if she asks for it? What happens to his non-killing vow? Doesn't it apply to his wives?

    The Seisouhen makers were very clever, using scenes right out of the manga, yet changing the meaning behind them.

    The only capacity in which I can accept this OVA is as an AU ending. It most certainly isn't how Watsuki wanted Kenshin and Kaoru to end up.

  14. tainted3 May 27, 2007

    @hitokiritaijiya

    Do not forget that kenji is kenshin's actual heir,his gentleness with yahiko and ayame and suzume is contextually different and besides,his absence also does not help in his hesitant interaction with his son,he feels that he hasn't been a major part of kenji's life as yet and we see a few glimpses in the OVA when kenji was younger when kenshin holds him and plays with him just as any normal father would.

    Kenshin infected Kaoru with the disease(which is not syphilis,it's more reminiscent of leprosy although the writers maintain there is no medical background to it) because she wanted to share his pain since she is his wife and saying no would mean letting her down,besides it was all in the moment and everything.He does not kill her,she chooses to die with him,which is stated several times over the OVA by miss megumi.

    Saying the writers and directors didn't read the manga is rather childish,since they've put out a sequel to the anime and a conclusion to the rurouni kenshin series and therefore,would have had to do a reasonable amount of research into the manga and anime series.Also,Watsuki has actually expressed that he approved of the OVAs.I'm quoting wikipedia,below:

    "Nobuhiro Watsuki, the mangaka of Rurouni Kenshin, intended for there to be a happy ending to the series. While Watsuki ended the manga storyline after the Jinchu arc, another short series of OVAs came out continuing the story. Watsuki has since expressed that he did approve of the OVA."


  15. ScarredSwordHeart Sep 01, 2007

    Watsuki expressed his approval of Tsuiokuhen. He has said repeatedly that he doesn't like Seisouhen and that a happy ending is the basics of a shounen manga.

  16. HitokiriKnsn Oct 13, 2007

    Quote by tainted3@hitokiritaijiya

    Do not forget that kenji is kenshin's actual heir,his gentleness with yahiko and ayame and suzume is contextually different and besides,his absence also does not help in his hesitant interaction with his son,he feels that he hasn't been a major part of kenji's life as yet and we see a few glimpses in the OVA when kenji was younger when kenshin holds him and plays with him just as any normal father would.

    Kenshin infected Kaoru with the disease(which is not syphilis,it's more reminiscent of leprosy although the writers maintain there is no medical background to it) because she wanted to share his pain since she is his wife and saying no would mean letting her down,besides it was all in the moment and everything.He does not kill her,she chooses to die with him,which is stated several times over the OVA by miss megumi.

    Saying the writers and directors didn't read the manga is rather childish,since they've put out a sequel to the anime and a conclusion to the rurouni kenshin series and therefore,would have had to do a reasonable amount of research into the manga and anime series.Also,Watsuki has actually expressed that he approved of the OVAs.I'm quoting wikipedia,below:

    "Nobuhiro Watsuki, the mangaka of Rurouni Kenshin, intended for there to be a happy ending to the series. While Watsuki ended the manga storyline after the Jinchu arc, another short series of OVAs came out continuing the story. Watsuki has since expressed that he did approve of the OVA."



    mmm... leprosy my friend does not causes memory lost, also leprosy is much more contagious, leprosy doesnt match. kenshin had alot of interaction with everyone, like sanosuke for example... as for syphilis, it matches perfectly:
    Often marked by a skin rash that is characterized by brown sores about the size of a penny.The rash appears anywhere from three to six weeks after the chancre appears. While the rash may cover the whole body or appear only in a few areas, the palms of the hands and soles of the feet are almost always involved...Because active bacteria are present in these sores, any physical contact -- sexual or nonsexual -- with the broken skin of an infected person may spread the infection at this stage(kenshin probably got it by a wound, kaoru had sex with kenshin when she got it)...on the last stage=headache, stiff neck, and fever that result from an inflammation of the lining of the brain. Some patients develop seizures. Patients whose blood vessels are affected may develop symptoms of stroke with resulting numbness, weakness, visual complaints, memory lost or/and dementia(kenshin had all this, including memory lost)- kenshin and kauru got syphilis

  17. ScarredSwordHeart Jan 23, 2008

    It was Tsuiokuhen he approved, not Seisouhen

  18. velvetduster Apr 30, 2008

    i was so right! that's exactly what yahiko thought ... kenshin infected kaoru with the disease! btw, this is just a rev for seisouhen, it's so serious and sad (when seisouhen was really sad) but a good one. great! :)

  19. ScarredSwordHeart Jul 12, 2008

    Seisouhen is good as a standalone story, but in no way reflects the spirit of Watsuki's manga.

  20. sasukkia Jul 18, 2008

    first 4 oav is splendid

  21. SchRita Jan 15, 2010

    Thanks for the review!

  22. ScarredSwordHeart Sep 02, 2010

    One thing I did think was cool in Seisouhen was the use of shading to symbolize the health and mental well-being of Kenshin. In Kaoru's flashbacks of her and Kenshin's early days together, he is bright. His hair is a bright orangy red, his eyes are a bright violet and his gi is a bright red. After Kenshin passes the Sakabatou on to Yahiko, his hair is a darker shade of red and he now wears a green gi. When we see him afflicted with the disease, his hair is dark brown and his gi is a dark green. It's as if, as Kenshin's condition deteriorates, all the brightness drains out of him, leaving a dark, withered husk.

page 1 of 1 22 total items

Only members can post replies, please register.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Read more.