»

Rosegirl18's Shuffle! Tv Review

Shuffle!

Shuffle! tv Review

Tsuchimi Rin is a high school student who attends National Verbena Academy. He spends his time with childhood friend Fuyo Kaeda and Shigure Asa. One day, two beautiful girls from the world of gods and devils transfer to his class and another artificial life form moves in with him. All 5 girls love Rin. Now he has to decide who will be the one he spends the rest of his life with.

The manga is illustrated by Shiroi Kusaka.

Written by Satoshi2oll.

Story & Characters

Shuffle, first of all, is the anime based on an ecchi game. At first I didn't know this, so I was slightly unpleasantly startled by how explict this was. Despite the goal to appeal to hentai men, the anime was quite deep, by what I could see. The anime starts off with an introduction of the protagonist, Tsuchimi Rin, and his beautiful housemate, Fuyou Kaede. Kaede is a girl that would appeal to any man. She is pretty, smart, obedient, kind, and a great cook. On the first episode, Kaede's feelings for Rin are immdiately shown. We also see that Rin completely takes her for granted. Later in the episode, we meet Asa, a sempai of Rin and Kaede, who is extremely energetic...and may have feelings for Rin as well. (A triangle so far...) Next, we meet two stunningly gorgeus girls who happen to be the daughter of the King of Gods and the daughter of the King of Demons. Shuffle's setting is in the future where the portal between Demons and Gods have been opened, so this is quite possible. Surprise surprise, these two girls claim that they have come to this school to be closer to Rin, the love of their lives! At first, all the girls seem slightly shallow and all willing to bare their bodies for the one man in their lives, but halfway into the series, the drama intrudes upon the Romance-comedy mood. Rin has a moment with every girl, so the series keep us guessing. Kaede, the ever so perfect girl, is revealed her dark past with Rin and we finally get to see what is truelly inside of her. Both Lithiansus and Nerine, the daughters of the Kings, seem to have an extra personality in them that ends up in a huge problem to be solved by Rin, and Asa, the older sempai, seems to make Rin notice her more and more... All in all, I think this is a great anime because unlike all shoujo anime, it keeps viewers guessing, and a love pentagon is always funner to watch than a love triangle, right?

Rating: 8

Art

The art is very cute in Shuffle, but the girls' hairstyles always look somewhat alike. For example, the bangs on Lithiansus and Kaede are exactly alike, except for the color. Rin's hairdo looks a look like the King of God's hairstyle, and so on. The colors are very pretty and bright though, so it is nice to look at. The Shuffle animators are also good at working with Sephia, although whenever the scenes are slightly blackened, they are so dark that I had trouble seeing what was going on.

Rating: 8

Sound

Shuffle's opening is highly appealing. The music is upbeat, sung by Yuria, and the clips going with the music is awesome. The ending music is good too, and kind of slow, to differ the opening. The music in between is well-timed, although it sometimes doesn't match the shoujo-ness of Shuffle. By what I was hearing, there wasn't many background music in the series.

Rating: 8

Presentation

Shuffle is a good mix of romance and comedy, but the drama was too stressed after episode 19 or so. There was almost a complete change of genres, so it was puzzling to understand it all. However, the storyline required such a drastic change, and the plotline was good too, although during the end half, the storyline pace was much faster. The ending was weird too, because at the last three episodes we learned all the answers of the mysteries, and Rin had to take care of them all in the last episode. Shuffle could have done better with more episodes and at a more consistant pace. The series was enjoyable, however, and it showed depth in both characters and plots. Other than the romance and the setting, the characters and situation was rather believable and realistic.

Rating: 9

Final Verdict

8.33 (good)

Reviewed by Rosegirl18, Feb 18, 2006

Comments

  1. Lumenesca Feb 18, 2006

    Nicely written. I'll have to check this one out sometime. :)

  2. SolarMan Feb 18, 2006

    well...i learned about the ecchi part the hard way hahaha.
    I really loved your review now i know more about the art.

  3. Yurusaretai Feb 19, 2006

    I want more episodes!

  4. sammy5961 Feb 19, 2006

    yes i liked your review, but what most people don't seem to understand about how the pace changes so quickly is that, that is how the game is. The plot changes based on the decisions rin makes.

  5. wildarmsheero Feb 19, 2006

    Shuffle! isn't goddamn shoujo. I wasn't based on some shoujo manga, it was based of a PORN GAME. Jesus. Also, what's with you kids with your "ero is bad lol". Jesus, since when did anime fandom go to a bunch of pussy children?

    Also, while Shuffle! was very good, a 9 is rather high. Maybe 7.5 or an 8.

  6. Dornatela Feb 19, 2006

    I like your review :)

  7. Ky Feb 19, 2006

    This was a very biased and poorly graded review. When somebody gives STORY AND CHARACTERS a 10 in a crap anime like Shuffle, you know it's crap.

  8. Rosegirl18 Feb 20, 2006

    Quote by KyThis was a very biased and poorly graded review. When somebody gives STORY AND CHARACTERS a 10 in a crap anime like Shuffle, you know it's crap.

    While you scold me for being biased, why do you say that Shuffle is crap? Shuffle is a great anime for some people, including me. If I am being biased, you are too. And Shuffle is an awesome anime, why else would I write a damn fucking review about it!? And who the hell said that reviews are not allowed to be opinionated?

    Also, to the person who said that anime fans have become "porn is bad" wusses, you are a damn pervert to say that the graphic and explict references are fine. Unlike you, some people actually have the decency to dislike porn.

  9. Vitorrio Feb 20, 2006

    While I feel that an all encompassing "porn is bad" view is bad, I believe that over use of it in a serious anime is also bad. As far as burning him for writing a biased review, I hate to break it to you, but all reviews are gonna be biased. Most writing is biased, because there is an interest in something, that's the reason you write about it. Whether you want to write about it because you thought it was terrible, or write about it because you thought it was great. You're going to be biased. No one is going to write about an anime they didn't care either way about.

    I felt that it was quite the review, Very descriptive. And I follow his opinion. I was really impressed with the completley out of the blue plot twists, I dislike when I can guess an anime's ending.

  10. Northy Feb 20, 2006

    I second the "no review can be completely unbiased" issue. This review actually held some value, because it was written in a style where you'll know the stance of the reviewer regarding this type of anime. So it doesn't really matter if I disagree with it. That said....

    "Kaede is a girl that would appeal to any man. She is pretty, smart, obedient, kind, and a great cook."

    I take a bit of offense to this line, if only a little. (Unless you were being satirical or using applied irony, in which case; never mind.) Some men, including me, don't think that submissive doormats is the be all and end all of womanhood. And while I do realize she has her reason for acting like this, it doesn't make the image any more pleasant from the start.

    On the other hand, most titles like this often portray men as being completely unable to take care of themselves outside of the scolarly aspect of their lives, often needing said dating game based anime females to save them from pigsty homes and daily meals consisting of instant ramen. It makes me think that anime like this occationally forgets that sexism swings both ways. Shuffle isn't as guilty about this as other anime I've seen, though; and actually brings up this topic near the end of its runtime. I may not have liked this show and its mostly subservient, "perfect women image, but it deserves some kudos for actually having tackled this issue to some degree. (This would actually be part of the reason why I like Love Hina, even if it introduces the other harem female arcetype; the uber-violent, abusive bitch.)

    Anyway, I guess what I was trying to say -- before I got myself sidetracked -- is, when reading the review, READ it and try to get a feeling of the reviewer her/himself. There isn't an anime title on this planet that has the entire world's populace in agreement, so it's your job as an anime review reader to get to know a reviewer if you're gonna read his or her reviews, and not just expect them to agree with your every thought.

  11. Ky Feb 20, 2006

    Quote by Rosegirl18

    Quote by KyThis was a very biased and poorly graded review. When somebody gives STORY AND CHARACTERS a 10 in a crap anime like Shuffle, you know it's crap.

    While you scold me for being biased, why do you say that Shuffle is crap? Shuffle is a great anime for some people, including me. If I am being biased, you are too. And Shuffle is an awesome anime, why else would I write a damn fucking review about it!? And who the hell said that reviews are not allowed to be opinionated?

    Also, to the person who said that anime fans have become "porn is bad" wusses, you are a damn pervert to say that the graphic and explict references are fine. Unlike you, some people actually have the decency to dislike porn.

    I say it was a biased review, simply because Shuffle just isn't that good an anime for its character and story to receive a perfect 10. There was nothing interesting, meaningful, or deep about the story at all. Every girl in the series all fell under the same "submissive" category. NONE of them had a background. The biggest question the series ever presented was which girl Rin would choose. And even if though it is a harem anime, it could have been done better. There were so many flaws in Shuffle, I've lost count. Quite possibly the biggest ball dropped was during the Kaede arc, when they COMPLETELY bullshitted and forced Rin with Asa. That was so ridiculously pretentious. Shuffle! is a piece of crap anime, and while I am being biased in saying so, I also look at the merit of Shuffle!, and believe that it's better to be harsh about it than elevating it like you do.

    And people write damn fucking reviews for anime they don't like either. Reviews aren't written just because they think an anime is awesome.

  12. Tigerofthebow Feb 22, 2006

    I believe that this anime is better than you put it to be Ky, it may have some faults, but it is a pretty good anime, yes the characters are pretty shallow and undeveloped, but thats because there are too many characters to begin with. If there were a few less charcters, each would've been developed to a greater extent. That's a fault with all anime that have too many characters, but it still is a nice shallow story for those ppl who don't really give about every charcters personal lives. I mean do you really wanna watch 15 episodes explaining the entire background history behind each character? Frankly, as this is based of a hentai sim game, when you date a girl/guy I doubt you go into their entire history before you find some aspects about them that you fall in love with. Love is a pretty shallow thing when it starts out.

    Another thing being reviews are suppose to tell ppl why they SHOULD watch an anime, not why the anime is a POS, then why should neone watch any anime period? Not to mention your critique of this review is pretty biased too. I don't love this anime to death like I do others, but it ain't so bad that I hate it either. It's a helluva lot better than alot of the other anime's I've seen.

  13. mkaster Feb 22, 2006

    Shuffle is one of the best anime for its awsome style and wacky story line!

  14. KKKEEENNN Mar 09, 2006

    Quote by Ky

    Quote by Rosegirl18

    Quote by KyThis was a very biased and poorly graded review. When somebody gives STORY AND CHARACTERS a 10 in a crap anime like Shuffle, you know it's crap.

    While you scold me for being biased, why do you say that Shuffle is crap? Shuffle is a great anime for some people, including me. If I am being biased, you are too. And Shuffle is an awesome anime, why else would I write a damn fucking review about it!? And who the hell said that reviews are not allowed to be opinionated?

    Also, to the person who said that anime fans have become "porn is bad" wusses, you are a damn pervert to say that the graphic and explict references are fine. Unlike you, some people actually have the decency to dislike porn.

    I say it was a biased review, simply because Shuffle just isn't that good an anime for its character and story to receive a perfect 10. There was nothing interesting, meaningful, or deep about the story at all. Every girl in the series all fell under the same "submissive" category. NONE of them had a background. The biggest question the series ever presented was which girl Rin would choose. And even if though it is a harem anime, it could have been done better. There were so many flaws in Shuffle, I've lost count. Quite possibly the biggest ball dropped was during the Kaede arc, when they COMPLETELY bullshitted and forced Rin with Asa. That was so ridiculously pretentious. Shuffle! is a piece of crap anime, and while I am being biased in saying so, I also look at the merit of Shuffle!, and believe that it's better to be harsh about it than elevating it like you do.

    By the way, I like the review, thanks for telling me the purpose of the anime. It reminds me of movies dealing with love triangles except this one is the biggest one I ever seen. Good review.
    And people write damn fucking reviews for anime they don't like either. Reviews aren't written just because they think an anime is awesome.

    Dude, this isn't the Shuffle hate forum, it's a review. She can say the presentation a 5 or 10 or anything. I would think it has some flaws like Tigerofthebow said, but it's necessary for you to cuss like this you dumb punk. If you hate the series, all you have to state is that your review wasn't right or I didn't like the review because blah, blah, blah. Don't cuss while you are giving you reason, this a anime review, not a guttermouth convention.

  15. a2g Mar 30, 2006

    Dear /b/tards

    Stop using this as a hate forum...

    And stop saging poeple cuz they recomend something
    its their oppion..

    by the way rosegirl
    alsome review...

    Some people I just don't get these days..
    Those people I spit in their food..(work at wenndys)

  16. Rosegirl18 Apr 01, 2006

    Thank you, a2g and KKKEEENNN. I appreciate it. And what an interesting way to get back at the evil of humanity ^^ And I apologize for referring to Shuffle as shoujo, the prettiness of the art often make me confused. But I really do think that Suzuhira Hiro did a great job on a harem anime. It really has dramatic and angsty flair.

  17. vincent2000 Apr 25, 2006

    will there be a season 2 of shuffle!? because i have seen 2 expantion packs of shuffle game. im not sure cause its written in japanese. but there is.

    merged: 04-25-2006 ~ 12:23pm
    oh yeah the anime is good i almost cried. hope to see a season 2!

  18. Warpten29 Mar 06, 2011

    Some how im having a bad feeling of watching this anime because of this review. Any way thanks.

  19. shoemaster Apr 05, 2011

    This anime was quite shallow at the start like some innocent harem thing and has too much fan service I consider the latter episodes to be worth watching though.

page 1 of 1 19 total items

Only members can post replies, please register.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Read more.